07 June 2012

If we listened to our intellect, 
we'd never have a love affair. We'd 
never have a friendship. We'd never 
go into business, because we'd be 
cynical. Well, that's nonsense. You've 
got to jump off cliffs all the time and 
build your wings on the way down.
   - Ray Bradbury

Ray Bradbury
August 22, 1920 – June 6, 2012

(includes story collections, novels, verse, plays)
1947 – Dark Carnival
1950 – The Martian Chronicles
1951 – The Illustrated Man
1953 – The Golden Apples of the Sun, Fahrenheit 451
1955 – Switch on the Night, The October Country
1957 – Dandelion Wine
1959 – A Medicine for Melancholy (UK title, The Day it Rained Forever)
1962 – Something Wicked This Way Comes; “R” is for Rocket
1963 – The Anthem Sprinters and Other Antics
1964 – The Machineries of Joy
1965 – The Vintage Bradbury
1966 – Twice 22; “S” is for Space
1969 – I Sing the Body Electric!
1972 – The Wonderful Ice Cream Suit and Other Plays; The Halloween Tree
1973 – When Elephants Last in the Dooryard Bloomed
1975 – Pillar of Fire and Other Plays
1976 – Long After Midnight
1977 – Where Robot Mice and Robot Men Run Round in Robot Towns
1978 – The Mummies of Guanajuato
1979 – This Attic Where the Meadow Greens
1980 – The Last Circus & The Electrocution; The Stories of Ray Bradbury
1981 – The Ghosts of Forever; The Haunted Computer and the Android Pope
1982 – The Complete Poems of Ray Bradbury; The Love Affair
1983 – Dinosaur Tales
1984 – A Memory of Murder; Death is a Lonely Business
1987 – Death Has Lost its Charm for Me; Ray Bradbury; Fever Dream
1988 – The Toynbee Convector
1989 – The Climate of Palettes; Zen in the Art of Writing
1990 – A Graveyard for Lunatics
1991 – Ray Bradbury on Stage; Yestermorrow
1992 – Green Shadows, White Whale
1996 – Quicker than the Eye
1997 – Driving Blind; With Cat for Comforter; Dogs Think That Every Day is Christmas
1998 – Ahmed and the Oblivion Machines
2001 – A Chapbook for Burnt-Out Priests, Rabbis and Ministers; From the Dust Returned
2002 – One More for the Road
2003 – Bradbury Stories
2004 – Let’s All Kill Constance; The Cat’s Pajamas
2005 – Bradbury Speaks
2006 – The Homecoming; Farewell Summer
2007 – Now and Forever

When Bradbury turned 80 years old in 2000, he said, "The great fun in my life has been getting up every morning and rushing to the typewriter because some new idea has hit me. The feeling I have every day is very much the same as it was when I was twelve. In any event, here I am, eighty years old, feeling no different, full of a great sense of joy, and glad for the long life that has been allowed me. I have good plans for the next ten or twenty years, and I hope you'll come along."

I went along, Ray, and I have to say, it was a glorious, thrilling ride from beginning to end. You taught me a lot about life, and a lot about writing.

Excuse me. I’m going to have a glass of dandelion wine in Ray’s memory.

No comments: